Registratie open : ALAI European Authors’ Right Award

In the spirit of inspiring the next generation of Intellectual Property experts, ALAI, with the support of GESAC, have launched an annual award for students (


The award, which ran its second edition in 19/2020, is given to the writer of the best essay relating to authors’ right. The essay should have a European dimension and include aspects related to the collective management of authors’ right.

Students of all nationalities are welcome to apply.

All abstracts, essays and questions should be sent to

This year’s winner will be selected by the following expert jury presided over by Prof. Frank Gotzen, President of ALAI:

  • Caroline Bonin, Head of Legal Affairs, SACEM
  • Gábor Faludi, outside Counsel for Artisjus
  • Paul Torremans, Professor of Intellectual Property Law, University of Nottingham
  • Raquel Xalabarder, Catedràtica de Propietat Intel·lectual, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya


16 November 2020
Deadline for students to write 1-page abstract on their essay

1 December 2020
Editorial Committee selects max. 10 abstracts that are eligible for the award

15 February 2021
Deadline for students to submit their essay into the designated format

1 April 2021
Editorial Committee selects winner(s)

Award ceremony – date and time TBC