Best practices for cooperation of rightholders and OCSSPs under article 17 Copyright Directive – Webinar vrijdag 12 juni 2020 13:30-15:30

Lees hier de presentatie(s) van de studiemiddag van 12 juni 2020:

Best practices for cooperation of rightholders and OCSSPs under article 17 Copyright Directive

Article 17 of the new Copyright Directive is designed to promote licensing agreements between rightholders and content platforms. To do this, the national laws must provide that online content sharing services providers (OCCSPs) perform a communication to the public and have to obtain authorization for the content uploaded to their services. Article 17(4) states the conditions under which OCSSPs are not liable in the event they do not reach an agreement with the rightholder. The European Commission is in the process of drafting guidelines for the application of Article 17 and in particular on the cooperation between rightholders and OCCSPs under Article 17(4).

The Dutch copyright society Vereniging voor Auteursrecht organizes a webinar meeting on June 12 in which representatives of the various sectors involved will give their view on best practices.


Aedín Conboy – Senior Policy Officer EDiMA (trade association for online platforms and other innovative tech companies)

Marco Giorello – Head of Copyright Unit (I.2), European Commission

Hanneke Holthuis – General Counsel Pictoright (CMO for visual artists in the Netherlands)

Kristina Janušauskaitė  – Director of European Legal Affairs, IFPI (representing the recording industry worldwide)

Charlotte Lund Thomsen – Legal Counsel to FIAPF (International Federation of Film Producers Associations) and to IVF (International Video Federation, Publishers of Audiovisual Content on Digital Media and Online)

Frederico Oliveira da Silva – Legal Officer BEUC (European Consumer Organisation)

João Pedro Quintais – Postdoctoral researcher and lecturer Institute for Information Law


Jacqueline Seignette, chair Vereniging voor Auteursrecht

Date: 12 June 2020

Time: 13:30-15:30 (CEST)


Participation is free for members of the Vereniging voor Auteursrecht and for students. Participation is open to other persons subject to online payment of EUR 50.00.

Please register here: